The Seven Factors of Enlightenment: the Heart of the Buddha’s Teachings #3 by Jack Kornfield

The Seven Factors of Enlightenment

Narrated by: Jack Kornfield
Length: 46 mins
Language: English

At the heart of all Buddhist wisdom lies one astonishing truth: a way out of suffering and into a more deeply fulfilling life is not a myth, but a reality available to you the moment you open your eyes through the power of skillful inquiry. Jack Kornfield invites you to experience for yourself the gifts of this vast spiritual tradition. Created specifically to address the questions and needs of first-time students, this full-length retreat on audio offers an ideal way to learn Buddhism’s essential principles and insights.

In Buddhism, the Seven Factors of Awakening are:

1.Mindfulness (sati, Sanskrit smrti). To maintain awareness of reality, in particular the teachings (dharma).

2.Investigation of the nature of reality (dhamma vicaya, Skt. dharmapravicaya).

3.Energy (viriya, Skt. vīrya) also determination, effort

4.Joy or rapture (pīti, Skt. prīti)

5.Relaxation or tranquility (passaddhi, Skt. prashrabdhi) of both body and mind

6.Concentration, (samādhi) a calm, one-pointed state of mind,[1] or clear awareness

7.Equanimity (upekkha, Skt. upekshā). To accept reality as-it-is (yathā-bhuta) without craving or aversion.