Samyutta Nikaya – The Book of the Kindred Sayings (Pali Text Society)

The Book of the Kindred Sayings

Title: Saṃyutta Nikāya – The Book of the Kindred Sayings
Author: T.W. Rhys Davids, F.L. Woodward
Publisher: Pali Text Society
Language: English
Length:‎ 15,442 pages

Try Audible Premium Plus and Get Up to Two Free Audiobooks

This first division of book, the Sagatha vagga, contains eleven samyuttas with discourses grouped according to characters appearing in them, the king of devas, the devas, the Brahma, Mara, King of Kosala, bhikkhus and bhikkhunis. The word Sagatha is derived from the fact that various personalities appearing in the discourses conducted their dialogues or interviews with the Buddha mostly in verse.

This second division of book, the Nidana vagga, is a collection of suttas primarily pertaining to causation or the principles of conditionality and interdependence, explained in the detailed formula of ‘Paticcasamuppada’, or Dependent Origination. Various aspects of Paticcasamuppada, together with expositions on doctrinal matters concerning practice of the holy life form the main theme of these samyuttas.

The third division of book, the Khandha vagga, is a collection of suttas primarily pertaining to the five aggregates — matter, sensation, perception, mental concomitants and consciousness. Made up of thirteen samyuttas, the Khandha Vagga forms an important collection of doctrinal discussion on such topics as atta, anatta, eternity, and annihilation.

The fourth division of book, the Salayatana-vagga, is a collection of suttas primarily pertaining to the six senses — eye, ear, nose, tongue, body and mind. Concise but illuminating expositions on Nibbana are found in many suttas.

The fifth division or book, the Mahavagga, or great section, is made up of twelve samyuttas, that deal the Noble Eightfold Path (magga), the Seven Factors of Enlightenment (bojjhanga), the Four Establishment of Mindfulness (satipatthana), the Faculties (indriya), the Four Right Striving (sammappadhana), the Five Powers (bala), the Four Bases for Spiritual Power (iddhipada), Anuruddha discourses, the Jhanas, Mindfulness of Breathing (anapana), Factors of Stream-entry (sotapatti) and the Truths (sacca).

Do you love listening to books? 🎧
Try Audible 1 month free 👉

-These Audio and Book are Educational Purpose Only.
:All rights are reserved to the owners or licensed. It is not intended to violate copyrighted material, which all belongs to its receptive owners.
For enquiries or copyright issues, please contact me at