Life Of Buddha by Andre Ferdinand Herold

The Life of Buddha

Title: Life Of Buddha
Author: Andre Ferdinand Herold
Publisher: Independently published
Language: English
Audio: CloudMountain Production
Paperback:‎ 108 pages

The Life of Buddha by Andre Ferdinand Herold, was originally published in 1922, and translated from the French by Paul C. Blum in 1927. The work is a biography of the Buddha retold in a simple style. Stringing together a coherent narrative arc from the several classic Buddhist texts, particularly the Buddhacharita of Asvaghosa, the Lalita-Vistara, and the Jataka. It is free of technical Buddhist terminology. This book dimensionalizes the story of Siddhartha, born into luxury, who seeks and find enlightenment, the sometimes painful growth of the Buddhist community, and his eventual departure for Nirvana. It is short and very readable, and can be recommended for young adults.

Table of Contents:

Part One

  1. King Suddhodana And Queen Maya
  2. Maya’s Dream
  3. The Birth of Siddhartha
  4. Asita’s Prediction
  5. Siddhartha at the Temple
  6. Siddhartha’s First Meditation
  7. The Marriage of Siddhartha
  8. Siddhartha Leads a Life of Pleasure
  9. The Three Encounters
  10. Gopa’s Dream
  11. Siddhartha is Eager to Know the Great Truths
  12. Siddhartha Leaves His Father’s Palace
  13. Siddhartha the Hermit
  14. Gopa and Suddhodana Grieve
  15. The Doctrine of Arata Kalama
  16. Siddhartha and King Vimbasara
  17. Siddhartha Deserted by His First Disciples
  18. Siddhartha Under the Tree of Knowledge
  19. Mara’s Defeat
  20. Siddhartha Becomes the Buddha

Part Two

  1. Trapusha and Bhallika
  2. The Buddha is Prepared to Preach the Doctrine
  3. The Buddha Leaves for Benares
  4. The Buddha Finds His Former Disciples
  5. The Story of the Hermit and the Hare
  6. The Story of Padmaka
  7. The Buddha at the Bamboo Grove
  8. Sariputra and Maudgalyayana
  9. The Buddha Pacifies the Malcontents of Rajagriha
  10. Suddhodana Sends Messengers to His Son
  11. The Story of the Crane and the Fish
  12. The Story of Visvantara
  13. The Story of Dharmapala
  14. Gopa’s Great Virtue
  15. Nanda Renounces Royalty
  16. The Buddha Leaves Kapilavastu
  17. Anathapindika’s Offering
  18. The New Disciples
  19. Nanda’s Pride
  20. The Death of Suddhodana

Part Three

  1. Mahaprajapati is Admitted to the Community
  2. The Buddha Exposes the Imposters
  3. Suprabha
  4. Virupa
  5. Sinca’s Deceit
  6. The Buddha Tames a Wild Buffalo
  7. Dissension Among the Monks
  8. Kuvalaya the Dancer
  9. The God Alavaka Defeated by the Buddha
  10. Devadatta Expelled from the Community
  11. Ajatasatru’s Treachery
  12. The Death of Devadatta
  13. Prasenajit and Ajatasatru
  14. The Buddha Teaches the Doctrine
  15. The Buddha and the Shepherd
  16. The Buddha Instructs the Monks of Vaisali
  17. The Meal at Cunda’s
  18. The Buddha Enters Nirvana